Name:



2024 NEW Dental Assistant Permit Application By CREDENTIALS

Non-Refundable Fee for Permit \$100.00
You must secure this permit within 30 days of employment in a Dental Office!!!

This form must be <u>COMPLETED</u> in full and <u>returned with a check, cashier's check or money order (Non-Refundable) ONLY to:</u>

Oklahoma State Board of Dentistry 2920 N Lincoln Blvd., Ste. B OKC, OK 73105

IF THIS APPLICATION IS NOT FILLED OUT IN FULL IT WILL BE RETURNED BY THE BOARD OFFICE

Section I. Official Registration and Correspondence Address

All information in Section I is required

Address:

City:	County:	State:		Zip:
Daytime Phone: ()	-	Date of Birth:		
Email Address:	@	SSN	l:	
Have you ever held an Oklahor	na Dental license or perr	mit (of any type) unde	er a previous	name? Yes / No
List all previous name(s)				
0 - 4 - 11 - 1 - 4 - 11 - 40	and the south the land of the same of	-4: d4-l -		41
Section II. List all offi	ce in which you prac	ctice as a dental a	<u>issistant in</u>	tne past year
Current Employing Dentist:		Start Date	:/	/
Full Time Part Time	Phone: ()	Fax	<: ()	
Address:	City:	State:	-	Zip:
		_		
	Section III. Educa	tion and Training		
Are you currently a dental assi	stant student in Oklahon	na? Yes/No If yes	, what school	l?
Have you ever held expanded	functions through anoth	er State? Yes / No		
If yes, what state?	whic	h expanded functions	s?	
XR- CP- SE	- N2O-			

Section IV. You MUST answer all questions below and sign the affidavit.

1.	Have you ever been suspended from practice, reprimanded, censured, or otherwise disciplined or disqualified as a Dentist, Dental Hygienist, or Dental Assistant from any State or Licensing Jurisdiction, or are you currently under any investigation?
	Yes No
2.	*I have read this question carefully and answered honestly(initial) Other than traffic tickets, have you ever been arrested for any crime or the subject of ANY disciplinary action by ANY governme agency or licensing authority; Federal, State, or Municipal, even if the case was deferred, dismissed, or expunged?
	Yes No*I have read this question carefully and answered honestly(initial)
3.	Have you ever been arrested, convicted of, or pled guilty to, or no contest to any offense related to controlled dangerous substances, a DUI, DWI, or APC? Yes No
	*I have read this question carefully and answered honestly(initial)
	*If you answered YES to ANY of the questions listed in Section IV, please attach a letter with an explanation including
	ANY charges, dates, county/state, and the outcome.
	Failure to include this explanation may delay the process of your application.
	Section V. Continuing Education
	understand that between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2025, I must accumulate and report 2 hours of infection of continuing education credits.
	understand that I MUST report my CE online via my online account. To access go to www.ok.gov/dentistry and n Access my online account on the home page.
	Section VI. Affidavit of Dental Assistant
	I do hereby attest that all information or statements made on this form(s) or any information given in connection therewith, to be true and correct. I understand and agree that this is a State of Oklahoma official document and any misrepresentation or fraudulent statement on any part of this form(s) may be grounds for disciplinary action as set forth by the Oklahoma State Denta Act as well as other laws under the State of Oklahoma.
	Dental Assistant Signature: Date:
	Total Permit and Other Fees:
	2023 Dental Assistant Permit (Check, Cashier's check or Money Order Only) - \$100.00 (Non-Refundable)
	IMPORTANT
	Include a color copy of your Driver License or passport (Do Not Cut Out)
	Answer all question(s) honestly
	Application is Completed and Notarized

THE OKLAHOMA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Dr. Bobby Carmen Norman, President Dr. Scott White, Glenpool Dr. Stan Crawford, Grove

Dr. Stan Crawford, Grove Dr. Krista Jones, Edmond Sheriff Andrew Simmons, Muskogee Rachel Ostberg, RDH, Bartlesville Dr. Steve Shrader, Cheyenne Dr. Erin Roberts, Enid Dr. Jeff Lunday, OKC Charles Floyd, Esq., Tulsa Dr. Brant Rouse, Ft. Gibson Please note you CANNOT fill out both affidavits. All natural persons fourteen (14) years of age or older and present in the United States, applying for a license with the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry are required by the provisions of 56 O.S. Supp. 2207 § 71, to provide the Board with verification of lawful presence in the United States by executing on of the Affidavits below before Notary Public or other Officer authorized to notarize Affidavits under State law. The Board's licensing offices are staffed with notaries who are available to provide notary service at no cost to applicants.

Option1- Verification of Citizenship

	Affidavit of:	
	(Applicant's Name)	
STATE OF:)	
COUNTY OF:		
perjury, as follo	, of lawful age, being duly sworn, upon oath states: I am a United States Citizen.	ates, under penalty of
-	(Signature of Applicant)	
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this	day of, 20	
By(Applicant)	-	
(Notary)	My Commission Expires:	
	(SEAL)	
Option 2- Verifying Qualified Alien Status	Please submit a copy of your passport, green card, etc. with this a	oplication!
	(Applicant's Name)	
STATE OF:)	
COUNTY OF:)	
perjury, as follows: I am a qualified alien under Fede	, of lawful age, being duly sworn, upon oath start Immigration and Naturalization Act, and I am lawfully present in	
(Signature of Applicant)	_	
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this	day of, 20	
By(Applicant)	-	
(Notary)	My Commission Expires:(SEAL)	

DENTAL ASSISTANT OUT OF STATE EXPANDED FUNCTION REQUEST INSTRUCTIONS

This application is for dental assistants who have obtained any expanded function(s) from another state and wish to see if they are eligible for expanded function(s) in the State of Oklahoma.

What to do first:

You must obtain an Oklahoma Dental Assistant Permit before you are legally authorized to work in a dental office and before you are eligible for any expanded function(s). You can find the application on our website at www.ok.gov/dentistry under the Applications and Forms tab. You may submit this request once you have obtained your permit.

Oklahoma Rules and Regulations 195:15-1-4 states that:

"Applicants who successfully complete recognized expanded duty training at a formal dental assisting program approved by the Board and the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association shall be eligible for permits."

Therefore, you must have completed a CODA approved Dental Assisting program in order to be eligible for any out of state expanded functions. To see if your school is CODA approved, you may go to http://www.ada.org/en/coda and click on "Find a Program." If your school is not on the list of approved programs, you will be required to retake any expanded function course(s) in the State of Oklahoma to be eligible to perform that function. You can contact the Oklahoma Dental Foundation at (405)241-1299 or visit www.okdf.org for course information.

The Committee meets quarterly, so you may not hear anything on your request for up to 3 months, depending on when the Board Office receives your request. You will be notified in writing at the address on file for you once the Committee has made a recommendation and the Board has approved the recommendation. Should the Committee approve you for expanded function(s), the Board Office will send you the appropriate application to complete. You are not authorized to perform any expanded function(s) until it reflects on your permit that is displayed in the dental office.

If you cannot or do not submit a complete packet, there is no guarantee the Committee will be able to make a recommendation to the Board. The Committee reviews your education, not your permit itself, in attempt to establish equivalency in education.

If you have any questions please contact the Board Office during normal business hours at (405)522-4844.

DENTAL ASSISTANT OUT OF STATE EXPANDED FUNCTION REQUEST

In order to be eligible for an out-of-state Dental Assistant permit with expanded duties, applicants must have a valid dental assistant permit for (2) years, in good standing and has completed a CODA approved program.

automatically transf <mark>er. You mu</mark> st b <mark>e pe</mark> rmitt <mark>ed throu</mark> gh the State of Oklahoma.
Dental Assistant Name://Date://
Mailing Address:
Daytime Phone Number: Oklahoma Dental Assistant Permit #: DA
Name of Dental Assistant School:
Program State: Email Address:
What expanded function(s) are you requesting?
Radiation Safety and Protection Coronal Polishing & Topical Fluoride
Pit & Fissure Sealants
Assisting in the Administration of Nitrous Oxide
Please attach the following documentation to this request for the Committee on Allied Dental
Education to review:
Education: The course outline on all expanded functions requested and CPR card-if assisting with
Nitrous; Official transcripts-must be in a sealed envelope. Proof of a valid certificate with a minimum of (1) year
(1) year
Verification of Licensure: Contact the State Board you currently held a license.
Specific clinical experience: Letter of recommendation from previous/current employer working for a minimum of (1) year.
Military Service: Proof of military service of (2) years with any certifications or training in any of the certification/expanded areas; Verification from the commanding officer of the medical program or appropriate supervisor confirming functions were provided on patients for a minimum of (1) year within the past (5) years.

Once you have a complete packet, please mail to:

Oklahoma State Board of Dentistry 2920 N Lincoln Blvd., Ste. B OKC, OK 73105